Breathing Kindness

“Three things in Human Life are important; The first is to be kind. The second is to be kind. The third is to be kind.” ~Mother Teresa. Many people seem to forget that in a world where everything cost money, kindness is the one thing that doesn’t cost ap thing. If more and more people did one little act of kindness, one gesture that makes a single person smile, the world would be a much kinder place.

The other day I was walking back home on a day that was scorching hot. With every step I took I felt sweat dripping down the side of my face. I stopped to get some water to hydrate as I journeyed back home. When I walked out of the store I saw this woman, sitting down, looking miserable and weak. She was homeless, wasn’t asking anybody for everything, just sitting watching people in the world. As I walked passed her I reached my hand out holding the water, and asked “Would you like this? It’s so hot out today!” She looked at me, then at the water bottle, then back at me again, as she reached out to grab the water. “Thank you. Thank you. God bless you ma’am!” Her day was made by receiving water. My day was made by giving a person who can’t afford the luxury of water, my water.

Simple actions as this can change someone’s whole day. My day changed in that I no longer complained about the heat as I walked back home, but complained that not enough people give out kindness to others. For me, kindness is a reflex, like breathing. I do it automatically and without thinking. So the next time you take a deep breath, breathe in kindness like you breathe in air.

Leave a Reply

