Friendships: Earning Your Greatness

Do you ever consider what the qualities are you look for in a friend and what ends up being the quality that attracts you most to your long-lasting friendships? Think about it, how often do we stop to consider what it is we really value about our friends. Is it their humor? Style? The way they make you laugh so hard your sides hurt? Or maybe it’s their kindness and their spirit. Whatever it is you are friends with that person for a reason and they are the people you look forward to having conversations with.

A friend of mine, Michael, is someone that somehow makes me laugh despite not knowing him for very long and not having been with him face-to-face due to our locations. The way technology works today, however, we don’t need to be next door neighbors to build a friendship and make each other laugh and seem like total dorks. What’s important about friendships isn’t the location or the distance, but rather the feeling you get when talking with friends. The smiles, the laughter, that’s what matters, that’s what makes you want to continue the friendship.

I’m someone who is “selective” with friends; I choose carefully who I want to share thoughts to, who I want to laugh with, who I feel I can trust. Sometimes the people that walk into your life are people you didn’t expect to meet, yet somehow here they are so you might as well take the car for a test-ride in friendship. Then, if you’re lucky, you begin a friendship that means something, one that you can explore emotions of fear, love, happiness, grief, and so much more with. Sometimes when you’re feeing a particular emotion the only person you want to talk to is a friend whom you know will listen and be there for you. Just know that people deserve your worth and if they don’t appreciate you for who you are, then perhaps they aren’t worthy of your greatness. Think about what Marilyn Monroe said, “I’m selfish, impatient, and a little insecure. I make mistakes. I am out of control and at times hard to handle. But if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best.” Your friends need to earn your greatness and if they can’t handle you when life brings you challenges, then they aren’t good enough during the times life brings you rainbows.

Leave a Reply

