Kindness: How Do You Want to be Remembered?

Children. So young, so innocent, so full of life and adventures. They remind us adults what it’s like to forget your troubles and be happy. They smile at us and we knew it’s going to be a wonderful day.

I am a strong advocate for children and believe in teaching them about the act of kindness and what it means. From an early age a parent can show their child kindness through being a calm and loving person; someone their child can value and see as being a warm-hearted and caring individual. Children are very intuitive and can sense a person and who they are; they will know that you are there for them and are giving them a secure and safe environment if you show them through small actions that you are kind and gentle. As they grow up and become adults they will remember how you treated them as a child and will develop into a kind-hearted person as you showed them to be.

Recently I was creating a college with my mother about my grandpa and was asked to write a little description about what I learned from my grandfather, who has been gone for 14 years. I instantly thought about how he taught me about kindness and the importance of being kind to each other. This is what I wrote:

           My grandpa was a wise man and as I grew into the woman I am today I now know            just how wise he was. He taught me about kindness and how important it is to be              kind to others. “Never wait for people to say hello. You say hello to everybody.” I                have lived by his words and have practiced kindness and spreading it to others.

          My mother and I both think about my Grandpa a lot and whenever we are writing               stories about him the words come so naturally. Grandpa is always on our minds,               always in our hearts, and we continue to live by what we have learned from him. 

I encourage parents, grandparents, anyone, to think about a message they want to leave to others (family, friends, whomever). If you had to think about something you hope will be remembered about you what would it be? Do you want future generations of your family to be reminded of your kindness? Your thoughtfulness? Generosity? Free spirit? Or maybe you had a fabulous eye for fashion and you want people to remember your fabulous wardrobe. Whatever it may be, think about what you might have learned from people in your life and what you want to teach others in this world. As Eric Allen said, “Everyone is my teacher. Some I seek. Some I subconsciously attract. Often I learn simply by observing others. Some may be completely unaware that I am learning from them, yet I bow deeply in gratitude.”

Leave a Reply

