It’s Not You, It’s Me: Accepting Who You See in the Mirror.

Makeup. Why do you wear it? Do you feel society has an expectation of how you are supposed to look? Do you wear it because you feel insecure without it? Or do you simply wear it because it’s fun to experiment with products? Every individual who uses makeup has their own reasons for it. For a while it seemed as if society wouldn’t consider women “pretty” unless they had bright red lips and flawless skin. But amazingly, suddenly, it has become a trend to go “natural” and prove that women can be just as stunning without the added colors on their face. The question is, why do each of us (the one’s who wear makeup regularly) feel the need to cover our natural beauty with colors and chemicals? Why is it that we are programmed to look a certain way and if we don’t we are the “odd man out” and people start looking at us skeptically, because we are displaying all our flaws right in the open for all to notice. But why should we feel ashamed of our natural skin? If an artist makes one small mistake on their canvas do they cover it up entirely or do they work with what they have? As an artist myself, I have messed up many times in my creations and I have begun embracing my flaws and using them to highlight my work, instead of erasing and starting over. Think of your face as a canvas. Do you need to cover up every freckle you don’t like, every unfortunate zit, or can you see your flaws as true beauty because it makes up who you are?  This is difficult. On one hand we all wish we could simply accept our faces and not have to spend a ridiculous amount of money to look “pretty.” But on the other hand many of us feel better about ourselves when we feel we look good. We walk with more confidence, our heads held high, with the attitude that we can do anything. And that in itself makes us feel ourselves. Sometimes the price for beauty isn’t actually spending money on cosmetics but spending time to look at ourselves in the mirror and get to know us. The real, true, wonderful and beautiful people we are.

Now don’t get me wrong, I love playing around with makeup as much as the next girl, but sometimes we have to look deep into ourselves and determine why it is we choose to hide our flaws. For the first time in a long time I went out of the house with no foundation or powder on my face. It felt so weird, and because it had been so long since I had a completely blank canvas, I took baby steps and left my skin untouched but played up my eyes a little bit. How did I feel going out into the world without much makeup, all my flaws exposed for the world to see? Weird yes, I had become so used to makeup, but also I survived the world that day. Nobody looked at me weirdly, no one stopped me and said, “You really look like a ghost today,” people just continued on with their lives. I could have sworn the world was staring at me, inspecting all my flaws, but evidently I was the one inspecting myself, being critical of myself. Turns out the majority of what we find “ugly” on our face is just us having an ugly attitude. So when I got home that day, I looked at myself in the mirror. I studied my face. I just watched myself. And you know what I discovered? I don’t look as bad as I thought! We are so critical of ourselves, we don’t even realize how crazy we are being. Everyone has flaws! Everyone has their own insecurities. It’s time to shush ourselves and our own attitudes about your faces and look at who we really are: downright fabulous!

 

 

Photo: http://makeuppix.com/2013/04/10/quotes+wearing+no+makeup

 

Leave a Reply

